On September 27, 2021, Governor Newsom signed AB 1003 into law. AB 1003 adds a new type of grand theft to Penal Code section 487m for an employer’s intentional theft of wages in an amount greater than $950 (from any one employee), or $2,350 (from two or more employees) in a 12-month period. Violations of this new law also carry a potential prison sentence of up to three years. AB 1003 further allows for the recovery of wages through a civil action.
Continue Reading Legislative Update: Intentional Wage Theft Could Result in Criminal Liability

On March 19, 2021, Governor Newsom signed legislation ensuring new supplemental paid sick leave (SPSL) for eligible workers impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic. The bill, SB 95, provides up to 80 hours of paid leave for employees who are forced to miss work for qualifying reasons. The SPSL covers many more employers than previous legislation, and allows workers to use the leave for more reasons. The law is codified in new California Labor Code sections 248.2 and 248.3, the text of which can be found here. The Labor Commissioner has also issued FAQs, found here, to help employers navigate their new obligations. Below are some of the key aspects of the new law and some of the items addressed in the FAQs.
Continue Reading New California COVID-19 Supplemental Paid Sick Leave Law

The American Rescue Plan Act of 2021 (“ARPA”) was signed by President Biden on March 11, 2021.  Part 5 of the ARPA provides for additional credits to employers whose choose to grant paid sick leave and emergency family leave to eligible employees under the FFCRA.

To be clear, the ARPA does not require employers provide

Background:

Under California law, employers must provide non-exempt employees with one 30-minute meal period that begins no later than the end of the fifth hour of work and another 30-minute meal period that begins no later than the end of the tenth hour of work.  Cal. Lab. Code § 512; IWC Wage Order No. 4-2001,