Effective January 1, 2019, California’s minimum wage rate increased to $12.00 per hour (from $11.00) for employers with 26 or more employees and $11.00 per hour (from $10.50) for employers with 25 or fewer employees. The minimum wage will continue to increase yearly until it reaches $15.00 per hour on January 1, 2022 for employers… Continue Reading
Effective January 1, 2018, California’s minimum wage rate increased to $11.00 per hour (from $10.50) for employers with 26 or more employees and $10.50 per hour (from $10.00) for employers with 25 or fewer employees. The minimum wage will continue to increase yearly until it reaches $15.00 per hour on January 1, 2022 for employers… Continue Reading
Happy New Year! The new year frequently marks new changes in the law, and this year is no exception. There are several important changes that went into effect on January 1st. Here are some of the major changes that went into effect on January 1, 2017: Minimum Wage Change: On January 1st, for employers with… Continue Reading
California lawmakers, union supporters, and Governor Brown have come together to increase California minimum wage to $15.00 over the next several years. Governor Brown signed the law only one week after he announced that legislators and labor leaders negotiated a deal behind the scenes. The new law requires California employers with more than 25 employees… Continue Reading
Effective January 1, 2016, California has increased its minimum wage from $9 per hour to $10 per hour. This is the second increase to the state minimum wage in the past year and a half. Remember, the obligation to pay minimum wage cannot be waived by any agreement, including collective bargaining agreements. Employers must examine… Continue Reading
On June 12, 2014, U.S. Secretary of Labor Thomas E. Perez announced a proposed rule raising the minimum wage to $10.10 per hour starting on January 1, 2015, for workers on federal service and construction contracts. The proposed rule implements Executive Order 13658, “Establishing a Minimum Wage for Contractors,” which President Barack Obama signed on February 12.