Currently, California employees, with certain exceptions, are entitled to three days or 24 hours of paid sick leave. Employers can choose to have a paid sick leave policy that provides all of the hours at one time or, the amount of available paid sick leave an employee has can accrue, where employees earn sick leave over time and any unused sick leave can carry over into the next year of employment. With accrual, employees must earn at least one hour of paid sick leave for every 30 hours of work. Employers can also use a different accrual method so long as an employee has no less than 24 hours of accrued sick leave or paid time off by the 120th calendar day of employment or each calendar year, or in each 12-month period. As to limits, an employer can limit an employee’s use of paid sick leave to 24 hours or three days during a year and can also limit or cap the overall amount of sick leave an employee may accrue to 6 days or 48 hours.
The DOL issued new guidance for agency officials responsible for enforcement on the application of the FLSA and FMLA to remote employees.
Continue Reading The DOL Issues New Guidance Applying the FLSA and FMLA to Remote Workers
Most California employers with 10 or more full-time employees will be obligated to submit OSHA Form 300-A by February 1st, 2023.
Continue Reading Don’t Forget to Post Your OSHA Form 300-A by February 1, 2023
COVID-19 Supplemental Paid Sick Leave (“SPSL”) was set to expire on September 30, 2022. However, on September 29, 2022 Governor Newsom signed Assembly Bill 152 (“AB 152”), which extends SPSL through the end of the year. The bill took effect immediately.
Continue Reading AB 152 Extends COVID-19 Supplemental Paid Sick Leave and Provides a Grant Program to Aid Small Businesses
On September 29, 2022, Governor Newsom signed AB 1949, which amends the California Family Rights Act (CFRA) to require employers with 5 or more employees to provide eligible employees with 5 days of bereavement leave. Here’s what California employers need to know about AB 1949: …
Continue Reading Bereavement Leave Now Mandated for Most California Employees