As has become a pattern each year, there are a number of new laws enacted in 2013 that will undoubtedly affect California employers in 2014. The attached is a brief description of the major new legislation and regulations that employers should look out for. Please do not hesitate to contact any one
Mandatory AB 1825 Sexual Harassment Prevention Training
Summary of Program
The regulations regarding California’s Mandatory Sexual Harassment Prevention Training for supervisors require that certain employers provide training to their supervisors every two years.
The Labor and Employment Group at Weintraub Tobin Chediak Coleman Grodin is offering a two hour in-person training session that will comply with all the requirements outlined in the regulations.
Date: December 4, 2013
Time: 9:30 a.m. – 11:30 a.m.
Location: Weintraub Tobin, 400 Capitol Mall, 11th Floor, Sacramento, CA
Charge: $75.00 per supervisor.
For more information and to register for this seminar, please click here.
Continue Reading Mandatory AB 1825 Sexual Harassment Prevention Training
Vets Got Class
By: James L. Brannen
Currently, the Fair Employment and Housing Act (FEHA) protects the right of persons to seek, obtain, and hold employment without discrimination on account of various classes including, “race, religious creed, color, national origin, ancestry, physical disability, mental disability, medical condition, genetic information, marital status, sex, gender, gender identity, gender expression, age, or sexual orientation.”…
Notice To Employers – Audit Your Compensation Plans Based On The Increase To California’s Statutory Minimum Wage
On September 25, 2013 Governor Brown signed Assembly Bill 10 into law. Under the new law the statutory minimum wage for California employees will increase from $8 per hour to $9 per hour as of July 1, 2014. Then, on January 1, 2016, the statutory minimum wage will increase to $10 per hour.…
Continue Reading Notice To Employers – Audit Your Compensation Plans Based On The Increase To California’s Statutory Minimum Wage
Nanny State Gives Nannies Overtime Under New California Law
On Thursday, Governor Jerry Brown, signed into law AB 241, providing overtime to nannies and other domestic workers in California. The new law requires employers to pay time-and-a-half overtime to any nanny, housekeeper, or personal attendant who works more than nine hours in one day, or 45 hours in a week. Coupled with California’s new $10 minimum wage by 2016, your nanny or housekeeper will soon cost you an overtime rate of $15 per hour.
Continue Reading Nanny State Gives Nannies Overtime Under New California Law