On September 25, 2013 Governor Brown signed Assembly Bill 10 into law. Under the new law the statutory minimum wage for California employees will increase from $8 per hour to $9 per hour as of July 1, 2014. Then, on January 1, 2016, the statutory minimum wage will increase to $10 per hour.
In October 2011, Governor Brown signed AB 469 – the “California Wage Theft Prevention Act of 2011” (the “Act”). The Act created Labor Code section 2810.5(a) which, as of January 1, 2012, requires employers to provide some new employees at the time of hire with a written notice that details their rate of pay, employer name and address, workers’ compensation carrier, and other information specified in the Act. The Act also instructed the DLSE to create a model notice that employers can use.