California passed SB 28 which makes it illegal to read or send text messages while driving in California. The law goes into affect on January 1, 2009. The bill imposes a $20 fine for a first offense and $50 for repeat offenders using any electronic devices to read or send messages. California motorists using cell phones have been required to use hands-free devices since July 2008 when speaking on the phone, and drivers under age 18 can’t use any electronic devices. Employers should conform their workplace policies accordingly.